Author Topic: another cross sections query  (Read 4980 times)

Steve b183

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
another cross sections query
« on: July 21, 2015, 11:38:05 AM »
hi lars
ive been using CAD Tools for a few weeks now for ground profiling thru topo surveys and profiling 3D polylines (surveyed below ground cables) ......all good and very simple ( I like simple)

i'm now attempting to create cross sections at 5m intervals to show a ground level and the position of the below ground cables......without much success

how would you advise I can produce a section showing cable positions ?.....I have a 3D polyline representing the top the cables

ive converted the cables to separate surfaces and a combined surface but the results are not what I was expecting

initially it was the polyline directions, fixed that but still results are not ideal

or is what i'm attempting not possible with CAD Tools ?

steve b




Lars

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2015, 07:09:48 PM »
Hi!

Hope I got it right. I think you should use "Display Reference" for the cables.

First you add your ground surface and the use the "Display Reference" on your 3D lines (Cables). The cables need to be real 3D polylines (with elevation) in a plan view.

/Lars

Steve b183

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2015, 10:22:08 AM »
hi lars

thanks for that, I now understand what the Display References are for and that's exactly what i'm after

however, i'm selecting 3 reference lines now which are all 3D polylines but for some reason the results are still a bit hit and miss.......only displaying 1 of the Reference lines in the results preview window if any and results from plotting have most of the sections missing the reference line information

I can email a dwg file if that would help

steve b

Lars

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2015, 10:35:25 AM »
You need to select and add them them one by one!

Steve b183

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2015, 11:12:59 AM »
99% certain I did ......but i'll check and let you know

Steve b183

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2015, 11:28:35 AM »
lars

selecting Reference lines individually has made no difference

for example a 575m length split into 100m sections selecting 3 reference lines

I get the ground level profile and level ok.........I assume ticking the display alignment with elevation box then displays the actual crossing point of the section line and the reference line

as for the reference lines out of the 3 selected only 1 of them appears in 1 of the sections drawn ?

S

Lars

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2015, 12:38:43 PM »
Hi!

Could you please send me a DWG with your lines and some explanation, also add yor surface file.

Send it to: Lars.karlsson@glamsen.se

Steve b183

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2015, 12:47:05 PM »
lars

thanks again for all your help on this

just produced 1st set of cross sections for the Client this morning, no problems at all now

steve b

Lars

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2015, 07:55:44 PM »
That's great!

Steve b183

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2015, 05:16:25 PM »
lars

just had a question regards the cross sections

would it be possible to show the depths ie vertical offsets from the ground surface to the refence line......similar to how the horizontal offsets are displayed ?

saves time calculating each depth

steve b

Lars

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2015, 09:37:28 AM »
I'm sorry but that isn't possible. However you can use the "Drafting", "Place Profile/Cross Section Note" to annotate without calculating.

Steve b183

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2015, 10:44:24 AM »
lars
could you possibly provide an example showing how the Drafting ....Place Profile/Cross Section note dialogue works.........does that need t be done individually for each section ?

steve

Lars

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: another cross sections query
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2015, 01:30:26 PM »
Yes, You can only work in one cross section at a time. You first select BasePoint and type in the elevation (BasePoint Elevation) and then pick point to annotate.